Thriftin' treasures

Sugar bowl $2.99, boogie van $.49, seagul tray $1.99

Sugar bowl $2.99, boogie van $.49, seagull tray $1.99

Scooby Doo's Mystery Van was so mod!

Scooby Doo's Mystery Van was so mod!

Going to use the sugar bowl in the bathroom for bobby pins, barrettes, etc. I’m using the seagull tray for jewelry and couldn’t resist the Boogie Van because it made me think of one my husband’s favorite bands, Fu Manchu, who have a song by the same name.

Kitschy state souvenir plates $.99 each (purple tag day)

Kitschy state souvenir plates $.99 each (purple tag day)

this is my favorite ~ Kitschy Kentucky

this is my favorite ~ Kitschy Kentucky

I must say I am a bit taken aback that I am so attracted to these plates. It is clearly a nostalgic pull. These are so kitschy but in that great retro-font-I-can’t-get-enough-of sort of way! I think I’m going to do a little vignette on the dining room wall. I especially like the Kentucky plate because of its unique shape. The cherry on top? Today was 50% off purple price tags and these had them. My mom suggested that I also mention that I am not interested in collecting these- this is especially important to note in my family as there is a strong tendency for family members to latch onto “themed” gifts and unwittingly create collections for others.

$3.99 clutch, $9.99 cashmere, $.49 dish, $1.99 book

A thrifter's staples: $3.99 clutch, $9.99 cashmere, $.49 dish, $1.99 book

Totally scored today! I was in the mood for putzing around so I spent some time thoughtfully perusing the racks and discovered this great little buttery soft leather clutch that is as discreet as ever and will easily tuck away in my work tote. The sweater is a Banana Republic cashmere which needs a good de-pilling but will be a trusty longterm staple, I suspect. The book is a collection of household secrets from the newsletter Bottom Line which, if you’ve ever read you’ll know, is brimming with very practical and effective tips- worth much more in value than its paltry price tag. The small dish will work well on my dresser to hold my earrings.
Leave a Reply

