DIY Personal Care Party

DIY Party Goods 1

I hosted a party for the Spokane Shrinking Violet Society. I was inspired to do so after creating homemade deodorant from a recipe I discovered over at the Angry Chicken blog.

I tracked down baby food jars, painted the lids and then cut security envelopes I had laying around into strips to use as labels. We made creamy deodorant, lemony body scrub and honey-flavored lip balm.

It was a great turnout and I’ve already heard comments from a few attendees that yes, it’s true, the deodorant really does work; if you’ve ever tried finding a ‘natural’ deodorant that works you’ll understand our cynicism.

Without further ado, here are the recipes:

Creamy Deodorant

  • 3 T shea butter
  • 3 T baking soda
  • 2 T corn starch
  • 2 T cocoa butter
  • 2 vitamin e oil gel caps (puncture and squeeze out oil)
  • essential oil

Stir and melt the butters together then add baking soda, corn starch and vitamin e oil. We made a huge batch and then poured the mix into individual jars. Each person then customized their deodorant with the plethora of essential oils that were brought to share.

Lemon Sugar Scrub

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 T lemon zest

Mix together, scoop into jar, top with lid. Enjoy.

Lip Balm Recipe

I was given a great recipe by a friend but when it came time to make the lip balm I couldn’t find where I had safely stored the coconut oil I purchased. So, thanks to the internet we came across this general formula and winged it.

  • 20% beeswax
  • 25% shea butter
  • 15% cocoa butter
  • 40% olive oil
  • and just a teensy honey

One Response to DIY Personal Care Party

  1. Becky says:

    Thank you for posting this! I’m still sad I had to miss it. However, I’m glad there was such a great turnout. I’m definitely going to have to make the deodorant..I’m still on the verge of running out!

Leave a Reply

