100mile: Day One

Breakfast (before)

If my lunch were only as delightful as my breakfast I might not have a headache right now (although that probably has to do with lack of caffeine, huh?).

Breakfast: roasted potatoes tossed in camelina oil and rosemary, served with a fried egg topped with roasted tomatoes and basil. The best part? Mixing it all together before eating! yum.

I was much less prepared for lunch as I hadn’t pulled it together last night. I almost blew the challenge by eating an apple from Huckleberry’s that the produce guy thought was local but it turns out Okanogan is outside our 100 mile radius. whew- so close. This meant one less item for my already meager lunch of hard-boiled egg, carrots, peach and cherry tomatoes my boss offered up because she felt bad about my apple. Finished it all off with peppermint tea brewed from locally dried mint.

I came home ravenous and pulled together some crepes made with spelt flour and filled with some pureed apricots I had cooked down last week. This was just what I needed to keep me from digging into the bag of Kettle chips my husband was eating in front of me.

Currently, I’m preparing myself for the next few days. My fingers are crossed that I can get creative enough to come up with some salads that are tasty enough that it may not even cross my mind that they need salt. ha.

4 Responses to 100mile: Day One

  1. spovegan says:

    Those tomatoes look delicious! Good luck!

  2. Becky says:

    Yum! It sounds like your making some pretty delicious meals. I’m a little jealous, as I’m trying to eat my dinner, it is not agreeing with my taste buds (thank goodness for apple cider). As Crystal said, good luck! We already have one contestant out!

  3. Hank says:

    The breakfast looks and sounds awesome. Good luck!

  4. Stephanie says:

    Agreed…the tomatoes look great!

Leave a Reply

